My Plan For FAWM Year 1 - An Introduction

Skip to the bottom

• @atam94 2 weeks

Hey, I’m Adam. I finally joined FAWM a little under a month ago, and I’ve been trying to post in the forums on occasion and get involved in the community a bit before February starts. I did share one of my recent ambient music projects from my 2017 trip to Glacier National Park with a couple of old friends from high school a little over a week ago.

Since I’m new here, I’d like to mention a bit of my background. I used to travel to Japan often, whether it was for summer camps where I volunteered as a camp counselor, for TEFL teaching internships in Nagasaki, or just to visit friends that I met on any of the previous trips. I have an Associate’s degree in Visual Communications and ended up using some of the skills that I learned in school to make fun travel and slice-of-life vlogs, mostly while I was overseas in Japan.

I have access to all of my raw footage from my travels over the past 5 years, and I have been strategically selecting trips/events that I can use for ambient songs. For my Glacier National Park song, I used sounds that I recorded with my camera to create a soundscape, with some sounds panned in various directions, and I automated the panning for a lot of the sounds, like birds chirping, cars driving, etc., to give a feel that they’re not in a static environment.

To prep for FAWM, I picked out sounds and video clips that I want to use to create (hopefully) 14 more songs and videos like the Glacier National Park one. I’m going to call my album “flashbacks” and it’ll be a passion project that will allow me to revisit past adventures. I’m guessing it’ll take between 6-10 hours per song/video, but honestly, the most time-consuming part is picking out sounds that I want to use for the environments, and… that was my prep work. I’m ready to go now!