human embodiment of "i have no idea what I'm doing dog meme" reporting for duty

Skip to the bottom

• @otterchaos Jan 14

Hello. I am a classically trained pianist who messes around with accordions, lyres and bone flutes. I'm doing a PhD on reimagining historical sound and I have not composed anything (or really played much) in about 5 years. Partner put me onto this. Would dearly love to get the things playing in my head out into the world. Have no idea how I'm going to start doing this with any modicum of confidence. Does anybody else come from a fairly rigid classical background and have trouble thinking outside various boxes? Would love some solidarity boops to stop me from chickening out before Feb begins...

• @headfirstonly  Jan 14

Don't chicken out! I think anyone who explores new musical territories goes through the "I have no idea what I'm doing" phase. I might not have a classical background but I certainly feel that way when I try something new. FAWM is a great arena for just diving in regardless and seeing what happens, and I have learnt so much from taking part.

(and if you're in to filking, you'll fit right in here, trust me 😀 )

• @ustaknow Jan 14

@otterchaos -- "here" you may be engaging folks of the same stripes, but they'll never say, as I've observed; you may never know.

I'd pick the most gritty, but obviously deliberate, "improvisational" musician here and try to offer them some, "for here only" collaboration, -- as an idea. And stick, just, to music, nothing else.

Then, set your "keyboard" to x, start banging on G or A - triad, light a joint, down a double of Bullet Rye, and when the sweat starts in the top of your forehead... let your Right hand tell you what life's about and let the Left hand kick it's ashe.

But, eh, I could be a little off on that 😉 hahhh!