lessons? which lessons have you benefited from?

Skip to the bottom

• @tsunamidaily  1 week

so, i'm going to register to take some introductory cello lessons, since i just picked up a cello in the pawn shop recently. i have no idea how to hold the instrument or the bow, though my intonation is ok, from years of playing fretless bass, and i'm familiar with the tuning concept and chord shapes from playing mandolin.
    i took a few bass lessons when i first started playing, right out of college, and had a limited piano class in college and a few semesters of vocal training. everything else i play is self-taught, including guitar, which is my main instrument after bass. i always thought the way you learn an instrument is to buy one. but i don't want to learn a bunch of bad technique i have to unlearn later on, on cello.
    what lessons have you had that helped the most in developing your songwriting? what lessons contributed the most to your development as a musician? i'm hoping that the cello adds another tone i can add to my recordings. what lessons would YOU like to take in the future?

• @dasbinky  1 week

The most valuable lessons for me have been music theory, no question. Understanding how chords flow together and why they sound the way they do. It's applicable across every instrument, it aids in fitting your melodies to your chords (and vice versa) and it's infinitely valuable in a group setting, especially if you're a multi-instrumentalist.

Apart from that, my best lessons have been just listening and copying music until something becomes your own. Learning is just imitation that becomes understanding.

In a more traditional "lesson" sense, drum lessons have been really valuable... they force you into an understanding of rhythm and groove that you don't get in other contexts. It's had a ton of bleedover into my playing on other instruments.

• @chipwithrow  1 week