Randomly Generated Motif

Skip to the bottom

• @saumera  1 week

I thought it would be fun to make a song based around a motif consisting of a series of random notes, then I thought hey I'm a coder why don't I open this challenge up! So I wrote a small script that will randomly generate a musical motif that's 4 to 10 notes in length.

Want a motif of your own? Give me a key (or it can be chromatic for an extra challenge) and I'll create one for you. It can be in any key and the scales available are:
    - Major
    - Minor
    - Minor blues
    - Whole Tone
    - Octatonic (whole/half)
    - Octatonic (half/whole)

When you get your motif, you can use it any way you can come up with:
    it can be a bass line, it can outline your main melody, it can even be the roots of your chord progression, whatever you can make work. When you're done tag your song #motif and post it here!

EDIT: @quillwraith created a quick little website that uses my script, and will generate one for you! Check it out!

https://forrestweiswolf.github.io/ran...

• @saumera  1 week

For my fellow coders out there, here's the code! (I wrote it in Javascript to be executed by node lol):

const notes = [ 'C', 'C#', 'D', 'D#', 'E', 'F', 'F#', 'G', 'G#', 'A', 'A#', 'B', ];
    const MIN = 4;
    const MAX = 10;

const scales = {
    major: [ 0, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 11 ],
    minor: [ 0, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11 ],
    blues: [ 0, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 10 ],
    halfWhole: [ 0, 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10 ],
    wholeHalf: [ 0, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11 ],
    wholeTone: [ 0, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 ],
    chromatic: [ 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ],
    }

const getRand = (array) => array[Math.floor(Math.random() * (array.length))];

const createGetNote = (baseIndex, scale) => {
    return () => notes[(baseIndex + getRand(scale)) % notes.length];
    }

const generate = (key='', scaleType='') => {
    const baseIndex = notes.indexOf(key.toUpperCase()) || 0;
    const scale = scales[scaleType] || scales.chromatic;