Finish ideas from before FAWM?

Skip to the bottom

• @vinniewhitehead Feb 6

I have lots of ideas for songs odd bits of lyrics. Some beats I've produced sat about doing nothing. Guitar riffs I've never used. Basically work I've started but never finished, I wouldn't call any of them songs just ideas.

Whats everyones thoughts on actually turning pre-FAWM beats, music, and lyrics or any other really early stage ideas into actual songs?

Or would you say they have to be completely from scratch?

As a side note I've been doing FAWM since 2013 and have always worked from scratch with new ideas but I've got so many ideas and bits FAWM could really give me the motivation to finish this year. While also trying to create new songs from scratch.

• @billysea  Feb 6

My opinion is that if you end up with a finished/completed song during FAWM it can count.

I usually have a list of song titles or hooks that come to me during Non-FAWM that I hit up as needed but have, on occasion,,had a completed chorus, or a verse that I flesh out into a song.

If somehow you think you've stretched out some rule here or there, just write an additional song Otherwise, I probably wouldn't worry too much about it 😀

• @fearlessflight2014  Feb 6

You get to decide what your own rules are for what constitutes a win. Some people make up their 14 tracks from mainly instrumental overdubs.I’ve finished collabs from previous years, rewritten old songs that weren’t quite working and always start with a text file of ideas collected over years. I figure anything that ends up containing a large amount of new work undertaken during FAWM is ok for my page. Finishing songs is the hardest bit so if you finish anything I figure you should post it and celebrate it.

• @vinniewhitehead Feb 6

@fearlessflight2014 I think I'm gonna bend my own rules and have a look through my lyrics books, and go through my beats and production ideas this year then.