New Gear?

Skip to the bottom

• @andygetch  7 weeks

Just bought a cello partly because I want one in the house so when my cello-playing friend flies in we'll be able to resume our duet practice. Partly because I also want to learn to play. I'm a complete newbie at bowed instruments so this could get interesting. EDIT: 1/19/20 This was a post in a long series from FAWM 2019 where the topic was what type of new (or new-to-you) gear will you use this FAWM. The prior posts from much earlier in 2019 were taken off in the 2020 site rest.

• @guatecoop  7 weeks

@andygetch: Well, THAT sounds like quite an undertaking. Iโ€™ve always been looking for a budget bow instrument, but havenโ€™t bought one yet. I suspect that my dog would howl at the sound anyway, just as he does with reeded instruments. Good luck on that! I hope to hear it this February

• @andygetch  7 weeks

Thanks @guatecoop the bridge setup and tuning already is a new adventure

• @edwardsmusic 6 weeks

A few days after my birthday (I was born on the 6th of November but couldn't get anything because I had a performance that day, so I bought my present on the 8th), I bought a Yamaha P-125 digital piano. I believe I'm going to use it for audio and MIDI recordings.

• @ustaknow 6 weeks

@andygetch -- I did "that", and loved it. I wound up playing for about 3 years, all self taught. I wound up doing my "own thing", like my Bow grip was a "european" style and really really preferred a Bass Bow, (bigger hands?) and out played any "High School Student" ๐Ÿ˜‰

I had purchased it for my wife, who then didn't use it and was just "killing" me, sitting there, -- wound up loving it, since tuned so differently was able to relearn the Bass Clef and sight read to play it in real time (not a paper guy, at all), -- so moved to "blues jam" with it, ala, Appocolyptica style? (their old original stuff, was Drum Kit driven, and lots of fun).

My "favorite" ? maybe...

https://youtu.be/4G3Ny7ACtqM

=======================