Agile Songwriting Management

Skip to the bottom

• @rogerroll Feb 19

This is my first year back doing FAWM in... Over a decade? And I've been surprised with how fruitful its been, given how very little I wrote in the years between.

It definitely helps that I'm fortunate to have a decent amount of time to dedicate to FAWM, but I also think part of it is from a process/framework for making it happen. The formula I set out to try that seems to be working:

1. Record one instrumental sketch per weekday.
    2. Pick 4 of the sketches for the week and try to write/record lyrics/melody for them on the weekend.

The rationale:

Lyrics are hardest for me and induce the most writers block, so chords/structure/rhythms up-front allow ideas to flow more naturally. A goal of one per weekday gives me freedom to be more experimental / playful, since there's less pressure to like what I write on a given day. If I succeed at one per weekday, I'd have 20 sketches to pick from, giving me lots of options for what to polish on the weekends.

Similarly, a "finish 4 songs per weekend" goal gives me breathing room on final products. I can afford to only write 3 or 2 on a bad week, since the default goal would have me at 16 songs.

It also helps that Feb 2021 starts on a Monday and ends on a Sunday (so this might not work very well in '24/'25). But at least it's working for me now!

How are y'all organizing your creative efforts this year?

• @andygetch  Feb 19

This year I used the first third of FAWM to freewrite and generate ideas. The middle third was developing the ideas into lyrics and admittedly slogging all along. In the final third my goal is to develop the ideas to a done-enough-for-FAWM point and posting the WIP song sketch. For me, several hours a day is the limit of my creative energy and I have learned in the past year that limit is true whether I am working or not.