how will you be recording this year

Skip to the bottom

• @wrenarcher  7 weeks

Well, over the past couple of years or so, I have managed to cobble together some gear that actually seems to be working. Still having a little trouble getting rid of a little background noise and hiss. I think it might be dirty electricity but I am no sound engineer at all so this is me just guessing.

And one of the buttons on my little mixer acts up now and again but for the most part it seems like this set up might actually work.

Behold!... my FAWM 2021 set up! Ironically, my tablet is nowhere to be seen in this photo... weird huh. However my beer and popcorn made it in. This sometimes helps in the recording process.

So how about you? What kind of rig will you be using this year? A giant 48 track mixing board in an isolation booth? Maybe keeping things real and doing lo-fi recording on an old cassette recorder?

• @elesimo  7 weeks

I'm using a Tascam Model 12 to record. It's a fantastic interface/mixer with 12 inputs, and I can record each track separately into my DAW or to an SD card.

And I finally got a nice microphone! After many years with a cheap $10 clone of the SM57 I decided to spend some money and I bought a SM7B. I still have a lot to improve on my vocals, but it's been such a difference!

• @tseaver  7 weeks

Beer and popcorn definitely work for me. 😀

Funny you should ask! I just did a census and figured out that I need to replace strings on fourteen instruments (various electric and acoustic guitars, mandolin, tenor and five string banjo, baritone uke, and an electric bass)! I've got extra sets for almost all of them, but that is a solid day's work sometime before February.

My studio is built around a four-year old mini-tower running UbuntuStudio 20.04, Ardour, and Harrison Mixbus32C.

I record into that machine through a Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 I got used three years back, with an external preamp and cheap-but-nice hardware compressor.