Buying new gear for FAWM?

Skip to the bottom

• @cblack  Dec 23

So, I've seen a few people mentioning new gear they've bought, and new gear they want to buy especially for FAWM, so I thought I'd make a thread about it.

What have you bought or are going to buy soon, music-wise?

For me, I bought the PoiZone plugin for FL Studio, and have been playing around with digital music. Now I'm researching MIDI controlling, and will hopefully buy a MIDI-to-USB cable to hook up my cheap keyboard to my laptop, and play my digital music, rather than just click my mouse a lot.

Your turn!

• @tsunamidaily Dec 23

no new instrument, but i'm getting my autoharp strung and might just try to write all my songs in february out of any chords on the autoharp. i'm also hoping my fiddle is working well enough to keep learning on it. maybe i can even record something with it during FAWM. it is my first attempt at learning bowing technique.

• @cblack  Dec 23

Ah, violins... I bought one, but hated putting the rosin on the bow, so never play it much.

And I just found another purchase I'm considering: Locking tuners for my guitar. I broke a string about an hour ago, and was quickly reminded of how much I hate restringing. So yeah... Even if I'm pretty certain I won't be recording guitar for FAWM (trying digital at the moment), locking tuners are definitely on my list. Because from what I've seen, locking tuners are super simple to restring. πŸ˜€

Unfortunately, I don't think Santa will bring me a set. 😝

• @brrrse  Dec 23

@tsunamidaily I hope you can record something with the autoharp. - hey, maybe we can host a autoharp challenge or something - WOOT.

• @cblack  Dec 24

Hmm... Got $100 for Christmas (so far, possibly total). I could order a set of locking tuners for my electric guitar. Or I could buy a quality MIDI-to-USB cable... Hmm... Must ponder.

• @brrrse  Dec 24

@cblack thank you - I forgot I needed a cable - πŸ˜€

• @cblack  Dec 25

You're welcome!